Faith, Love and Respect for ALL

Happy Birthday to Me

Today is my birthday, and like many days, I am feeling very blessed. Although most days I am also feeling very stressed, and it can be a struggle not to be a pessimistic person. I believe that is what life is all about. It is the Yin-and-Yang of our universe. I think the key to happiness is to balance the positives and negatives so that we can always find a blessing in any situation.

Lately I have been reflecting on my 36 years on this earth. I am blessed to have my Al-Anon program and family, to help me take an HONEST look at my life. Here is what God has given me to process so far… I have seen times that I thought I would not survive, physically and/or spiritually. I have been the kindest, empathetic and most helpful person to many; however, I have also been the cruelest, judgmental and most hurtful to others. I have mourned times that brought me great sorrow, while I have also celebrated times that brought me great joy. I have been the hero and I have been the villain. I have been the uplifting force of positive love, and I have been the anchor of negative scorn. I have been strong and brave, and I have been weak and terrified. I am blessed and I am flawed, simply put I am human.

I am extremely thankful for the loving support of family and friends, who are by my side regardless if I am on the positive or negative side of life. I am thankful to have many people in my life who will be honest with me and tell me when I am being a less-than-desirable person to be around. The Lord has blessed me with a best friend, who is truly an Angel, and she ALWAYS gives it to me straight. Although there are times when I may not want to hear what she has to say, or see the situation from the perspective she is presenting, her insight is always invaluable. She helps be a better me, and I will be eternally grateful for her presence in my life. My husband also helps keep it “real” for me, he grounds me in a way that no one else can. He helps me see when I am being ridiculous and need to back off, or when I need to step up my game and be the person he knows I can be. He loves and supports me unconditionally, he is my rock. I can honestly say that with Henry on one side and Marie on the other, I can face anything this world throws at me.

Although I am not proud of the person I have been at times, or some of the things I have done over the years. I am proud of myself for recognizing attitudes and actions that need to be changed in myself. I may not always like the person I see in the mirror, but I can see the changes she is making and am proud of her. Through the grace of God, my amazing Al-Anon program and family, and all the other wonderful people in my life one day I will look in the mirror and love the woman I see as much as my extraordinary family and friends already do. My life thus far has been an adventure filled with lots of ups-and-downs, back-and-forths, and failures-and-successes. Through it all I have learned many valuable lessons, but I know that I still have much more to learn. I pray that the next 36 years see me making wiser, kinder and more loving choices.

So I celebrate my birthday today, and I look to future with a happy, hopeful, faithful heart. May the Yin-and-Yang always steer me toward the path on my journey that will help me achieve my God-given potential, so that I may be the person I pray I can be.

“This Simbol(Yin-Yang) represents the ancient Chinese understanding of how things work. The outer circle represents “everything”, while the black and white shapes within the circle represent the interaction of two energies, called “yin” (black) and “yang” (white), which cause everything to happen. They are not completely black or white, just as things in life are not completely black or white, and they cannot exist without each other. While “yin” would be dark, passive, downward, cold, contracting, and weak, “yang” would be bright, active, upward, hot, expanding, and strong. The shape of the yin and yang sections of the symbol, actually gives you a sense of the continual movement of these two energies, yin to yang and yang to yin, causing everything to happen: just as things expand and contract, and temperature changes from hot to cold.” — http://fly.cc.fer.hr/~shlede/ying/yang.html

 

 

Creative Commons License
Autism Proud – Journey With Us – by Jest Tu Positive by Dorothy Stronglove is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

