Faith, Love and Respect for ALL

Believe in Yourself

As parents we tend to lose ourselves in our quest to do what is best for our family. When we have a child with Special Needs, we put everything we have into helping our children achieve their God-given potential. As beautiful and loving as our intentions are for our children, we forget to care for  ourselves.

Our Autistic daughter is ill, she is prone to respiratory infections, and has Croup again. As a result, our other daughter is spending a few days with Grandma and Grandpa until sister is healthy again. Although it kills me, and makes me feel like a failure, I must admit that I cannot meet both of their needs, while Beth is sick. She needs my undivided love and attention, and Anne deserves to be loved and played with too. So I must accept what is and follow the guidance of my Higher Power, no matter how many tears I may shed, because I am only human. It is better to admit my shortcomings and be realistic about my abilities, than to try to do it all and have my children suffer due to my preconceived notions and pride. As sad as I am that Anne needed to go away for a few days, I am equally thankful that we have a support system that allows us to meet both girls needs so well.

On a day when I am exhausted, and yearning for inspiration to help me work my program I wanted to share this touching poem with you. I believe God lead me to Al-Anon, not only to help me overcome my “sickness” from the “isms” I have faced in my life, but also to help me face life in the Special Needs Community. For there is nothing better than my program to help me face each day with a positive, faith that He will see us through. The tools I learn in Al-Anon to love myself and love others for who they are, will be passed down to my children so they too will love themselves, and be proud of the Au-Some individuals they are, while accepting others for who they are as well. The thoughts and feelings the author put into this poem are amazing, and they are all sentiments we try to live by, One Day at a Time.

Believe in Yourself

Don’t undermine your worth by comparing yourself to others.

You are unique and important part of the Higher Power’s creation.

Your special role in life cannot be filled by anyone else.

Don’t set your goals by what other people deem important.

Aim for your own star.

Don’t take for granted the things closest to your heart.

Cling to them as you would your life, for without them life is meaningless.

Don’t let life slip through your fingers by living in the past or future.

By living your life one day at a time, you will truly live all the days of your life.

Don’t be afraid to admit that you are less than perfect and don’t be afraid to encounter risks.

Don’t shut love out of your life.

The quickest way to receive love is to give it and the fastest way to lose it is to hold it too tightly.

Don’t dismiss your dreams.

To be without dreams is to be without hope,to be without hope is to be without purpose.

Don’t run through life too fast.

Life is not a race, but a miraculous journey to be savored every step of the way.

With Love, Anonymous

 

 

Creative Commons License
Autism Proud – Journey With Us – by Jest Tu Positive by Dorothy Stronglove is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Comments on: "Believe in Yourself" (2)

  1. Great post. Hope your daughter gets better soon and you can have both of your girls home with you.

  2. [...] Believe in Yourself (jesttupositive.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterPrintStumbleUponRedditFacebookDiggLinkedInEmailPinterestTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. By Timotheus "Pharaoh" Gordon • Posted in Autism, Autism Acceptance, Autism Awareness, Disability • Tagged Asperger syndrome, Autism, Autism spectrum, Autistic Pride Day, Health, List of people with autism spectrum disorders, Mental Health, Temple Grandin 0 [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

